Marvel’s Echo will be the MCU’s first 2024 release, featuring the Native American hero Maya Lopez and her origin story. Echo is a standalone series that falls under the Marvel Spotlight banner, meaning it can be watched without prior knowledge of the MCU. All five episodes of Echo will be released simultaneously on January 9, 2024, allowing viewers to binge-watch the series at their own pace.

Marvel’s Echo will be the MCU‘s first 2024 release and will delve into the story of Maya Lopez throughout several Disney+ episodes. Maya Lopez is a Native American hero with superhuman reflexes and the ability to perfectly mimic the moves of her opponent, similar to Taskmaster. Echo is Marvel’s second-ever deaf hero depicted on screen, following Lauren Ridloff’s Makkari in Eternals, whose comic book origins often pair her with Daredevil. This foreshadows the imminent arrival of the blind defender of Hell’s Kitchen, who is set to appear in his first MCU series in Daredevil: Born Again.

Marvel’s Echo is the first series to fall under the Marvel Spotlight banner, a collection of Marvel media that is not inexorably tied to the MCU and that can be easily viewed without prior knowledge of the surrounding narrative. That is not to say, however, it will be completely removed from the MCU, with Echo being a must-watch for anyone looking forward to Charlie Cox’s return as the Man Without Fear. Regardless, Alaqua Cox’s brief appearance as Echo in Disney+’s Hawkeye was proof enough that this latest offering is well worth a watch – and the good news is that it is both bite-size and bingeable.


Echo Show Cast & Marvel Character Guide

Hawkeye’s MCU spinoff, Echo, is set for release as part of Phase 5, seeing the return of Maya Lopez as well as several new Marvel Studios characters.

Echo Is 5 Episodes Long

Echo will comprise of just five episodes that run for an average of 45 minutes each. It will take place in the aftermath of Lopez’s appearance in Hawkeye, in which she discovered Wilson Fisk (Vincent D’Onofrio) to be the true killer of her father. As such, Maya returns to Oklahoma and reconnects with her Native American roots before the origin story that gives rise to the titular mantle, Echo, is told over the course of the series. This will seemingly also feature flashbacks in which Fisk heavily features as a paternal figure to Lopez, definitively establishing the iconic villain as a central part of the MCU.

Echo Season 1 Release Schedule Explained

All five episodes of Echo release on Tuesday, January 9 at 9:00 pm ET/6:00 pm PT. In a departure from the norm, Marvel will be dropping all episodes simultaneously, affording viewers the chance to watch them in their entirety in just one or two sittings. It’s akin to the same release schedule of the Marvel Netflix shows like Daredevil and Jessica Jones.

Episode Number

Episode Title

Release Date

Season 1, Episode 1


January 9, 2024, 6:00 pm PT

Season 1, Episode 2


January 9, 2024, 6:00 pm PT

Season 1, Episode 3


January 9, 2024, 6:00 pm PT

Season 1, Episode 4


January 9, 2024, 6:00 pm PT

Season 1, Episode 5


January 9, 2024, 6:00 pm PT

This is a rarity for the MCU, which typically releases Disney+ episodes on a weekly or daily basis, helping to build anticipation for the series across a certain period. With Echo being the first Marvel Spotlight series, however, there seems to be less impetus for the studio to eke it out as it will have minimal ties to the wider MCU. Still, the release schedule of Echo allows viewers to watch at their own pace.

Key Release Dates

Deadpool 3

Captain America: Brave New World

Marvel’s Fantastic Four

Marvel’s Thunderbolts

Blade (2025)

Avengers: The Kang Dynasty

Avengers: Secret Wars

 Marvel’s Echo episode release explained.  Read More